Dean Alfredo L. Juinio


The UP Engineering Research and Development Foundation, Inc. (UPERDFI) was established in August 3, 1972 under the leadership of UP College of Engineering (UPCOE) Dean Alfredo L. Juinio until his death in 2003. Since then, Leopoldo V. Abis; Alfonso A. Aliga, Jr.; Emilio Lolito J. Tumbocon; and Rosario S. Calderon have been elected as President.

UPERDFI now counts on 152 members, who are mostly alumni and friends who are industry leaders. Membership is done by invitation only. A 15-person Board of Trustees oversees the Foundation’s operations.

UPERDFI is registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission, the Department of Science and Technology, and the Philippine Council for NGOs. It is also recognized by the Bureau of Internal Revenue as a Donee Institution, exempting donors from paying donor’s tax and providing 100% expense deductibility of donations of at least P50,000.

US-based donations to UPERDFI are coursed through the Friends of UP Foundation in America, which issues the Acknowledgement Letter for tax deduction recognized by the US Internal Revenue Service.

SyCip Gorres Velayo & Co. (SGV & Co.) is the independent auditor.


Officers 2019-20

Alex Sy Sun Eng


Frederick Jonathan A. Trinidad


Jaime G. Del Rosario


Edgardo G. Atanacio


Rene N. Nolasco

Corporate Secretary

Editha J. Atienza


Alfonso A. Aliga, Jr.

Executive Director

Board of Trustees 2019-20

Edgardo G. Atanacio

Carlos M. Berba

Dante M. Briones

Roger Victor E. Buendia

Ferdinand M. De La Cruz

Rizalinda L. De Leon

Jaime G. Del Rosario

Joselito G. Florendo

Rowena Cristina L. Guevara

Rene E. Nolasco

Daniel C. Peckley, Jr.

Joseph Gerard T. Reyes

Washington A. Roqueza

Alex Sy Sun Eng

Frederick Jonathan A. Trinidad

Council of Advisers

Estrella F. Alabastro

Magdaleno B. Albarracin, Jr.

Filemon T. Berba, Jr.

Cesar A. Buenaventura

Rosario S. Calderon

Marcelo M. Casillan, Jr.

Isidro A. Consunji

Fortunato T. De La Peña

Jesus P. Francisco

Manuel T. Frondoso

Pedro H. Maniego, Jr.

Emilio Lolito J. Tumbocon

Gregorio V. Vigilar

Cesar E. A. Virata